top of page

SXSW Spillover @ J&O's Cantina

Hey there guys! I know I haven’t been able to post as much as I would have liked. Life kind of took over for a while. But I was shocked back into my need to write about good art and the magic it brings, when I visited a new bar with some new and old faces.


I originally went to J & O’s Cantina to hear one of my favorite local musicians play, but when I entered that enchanting place my heart melted a bit. I seem to have a weakness for simple dive bars that have such a cozy homey feel to them. J & O’s is an intimate venue with a small stage right up front. The bar is fully stocked and there is seating galore. I took refuge on a cool little antique couch covered in red velvet.


Because I got there so early, I was able to get a seat by the amazing live artist Becca Seiler. She created her own inspiring magical atmosphere with paint and canvas while the musicians created an ambiance around her. She was working on a larger rendering of a gorgeous piece she had been previously commissioned for. Her knowledge and use of color was breathtaking to several members of the audience. Not only does she create amazing paintings on canvas, but she is also a very experienced body painter and tattoo designer. She also had a piece in charcoal for silent auction. You can check out her work on Instagram.


Now to the musicians!! The night opened with Alex Delgado, a very enthusiastic singer who was deeply devoted to raising funds for the San Antonio Children’s Shelter. He was also offering CDs for interested audience members. Jaik Yanez followed him up with a few songs from his latest EP, Yesteryears, and a couple new ones from his upcoming album Carlsbad, New Mexico. His humor always manages to relax the crowd and make them feel welcome. This singer/songwriter has outdone himself with some of his newer songs. I remember a really great moment during the evening when a hush settled over the crowd during one of his more heartbreaking songs. You could feel the awe in the room as the audience fell under his spell. Check him out on his Facebook page, Twitter, or at http://www.jaikyanez.com/.


Bad Heart was the next band that took the stage and wowed the audience, myself included. I had the pleasure of seeing some of their members at the David Bowie Tribute at 502 a while back, but I never thought how wonderful this band could be together. Having just come from South By Southwest the same day, they must’ve been exhausted. But it certainly didn’t show during their playful and energetic performance. I’ve been moved and awed when listening to some local bands, but I don’t think I’ve ever had so much fun just watching a band doing what they love. The lead singer/songwriter and guitarist, Andrew Reynosa, was incredibly expressive and lively, even after breaking two strings. The two other guitarists, Zack Ferris and Brendon Yeich played well off of each other and looked like they were having just as much fun with their art. The drums brought their sound altogether to create a beautiful tune. Their songs were full of meaning and their performance was a truly enjoyable experience. You can check them out on Facebook or at https://www.reverbnation.com/badheartsa.

The closer was Bryan Patrick, true to his name with his head of red hair. His songs were just as beautifully written and meaningful, and his skill with a guitar was something to marvel at. Be sure to check him out on Facebook or Twitter. I can’t believe I got to see a show with so many talented people pulling together to create such an exquisite night of art, music, and creativity. Sometimes life gets you thinking that it’s all just work, work, work, and you slowly start to forget why you’re working so hard. You kind of forget why you started in the first place. You get caught up in trying to survive instead of enjoying the gift of life and miracle of passionate human beings undeterred by obstacles, ready to express themselves through what they make. Just try to remember every now and again why we do it.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page