top of page

502 Bar, Ranch House, and Bitforce


A couple weekends ago, I had the fortunate pleasure of visiting a local bar by the name of 502. Now before I describe the atmosphere to you, I’m going to let you in on a little secret. I happen to be a rather shy person in real life which can hinder the likelihood of me trying new places and new things here in San Antonio. So when I tell you how chill and relaxing the atmosphere of this bar was, you can trust that I know what I’m talking about. 502 bar has a somewhat café-like feel to it that allows newcomers to feel welcome while hanging out listening to some awesome local bands. The drink selection is vast especially when it comes to beer, but I would have to say my favorite drink was the Sangria. It has just enough alcohol to relax you while still having a smooth, fruity taste. The bartenders were extremely friendly and attentive as well.

Ranch House

Now while I was there I got the chance to see the Indie-Folk-Rock band, Ranch House who hail from San Antonio themselves. You can read more about them on their website www.ranchhousemusic.com or visit their facebook page at www.facebook.com/ranchhousemusic/.

Their music was really something to marvel at. Not only were their original songs lively and joyous, but their lead singer was a true performer who loved the music as much as the audience.


Bitforce

The next evening I was able to return to 502 originally to see Crunk Witch, a bit-pop style husband and wife duo. Now don’t get me wrong their music was fun and exciting, but it was one of their openers that caught my ears by surprise. The local band, Bitforce, whose nerdy rock took me back to my childhood played songs such as the Teen Titans and Pokemon theme songs. Usually, the band consists of a trio of a drummer, bass guitarist, and lead guitarist.


However, they had a special guest vocalist sing with them that evening who proved to be a great performer as well. Richard Evans, half of the band Rivers Want, with his wacky costume and signature dance moves, was able to add to the passionate rock session brought about by Bitforce. You can learn more about them and buy merchandise at their website www.bitforce.bandcamp.com and at their facebook page www.facebook.com/bitforceband.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page