top of page

Open Mic at Barrio Barista


Okay, before we start off with this post, I’m going to let you in on a little secret. Well, a secret I tell as many people as I can. I may look like my ancestors spent their entire lives in a closet as to not soak up any sun, however that is most certainly not the case. What I’m trying to say is despite the very whiteness of my skin I am actually half Mexican. I was mostly raised by three very stubborn Mexican women, and I would like to think I carry more of their blood than my skin allows you to see. So that being said, when I moved from a town that was filled to the brim with Mexicans working in the oil field with no interest in the arts whatsoever to a town filled to the brim with just as many Mexicans, but who were as immersed in the arts and creators themselves, I knew I had found home.


Sometimes I can forget how great this city really is. But when I entered Barrio Barista for the first time, I was quickly and refreshingly reminded of how intertwined my heritage is with the art culture of San Anto. When I entered this magical place I just fell in love. This entire café was covered in art by local artists, and their menu included tacos and barbacoa, along with a really great horchata latte. When most people think of cafés, they don’t see a Hispanic father son business filled with life and culture and art. I was just so taken aback by how wonderful the atmosphere felt. If San Anto is home, then this place was like the softest chair with the biggest pillow; the most comfortable place for reading and learning and growing. Not to mention their barbacoa grilled cheese is amazing! The location of Barrio Barista is also something to marvel at. This isn’t exactly the richest part of town, but this place holding open mics and poetry readings as they do, allows artists come forward from an unpromising background to rise and feel free to express themselves through their craft. Do not miss the chance to see culture and art come together so beautifully as in this place.

Now to the main event! The open mic was hosted by none other than Victoria Garcia-Zapata Klein, a published poet from San Antonio. The featured poet, Miss Andrea Vocab Sanderson, took the mic first and opened the event with a barrage of heartfelt poetry and music. Her poems are steeped in earthy metaphors and preach the name of her faith for all to hear. She reminds us of the power of racism and demands it be stopped. She sings love in her words and inspires with every rhyme.


The open mic continued with several local poets from different cultures, but I have never seen so many Mexican poets in all my life. I was absolutely thrilled to hear so many Spanish words in poetry, when I had been taught only the words of white men, and had once thought that there could be no room for my ancestors in my own writing. I was especially captured by the poems about the old ways and traditions of the past. I have only had limited access to these stories, and I yearn for more.


The many poets spoke of love, heart ache, galaxies, struggles, and solutions. Some of the poetry that caught my attention was the poetry spoken about women. I must admit there were a couple Mexican poets that did not speak highly of them, especially when they wore my skin color. But I know what certain “gueras” are capable of. I know racism is not dead and buried, like so many politicians seem to keep shouting. Still I cannot help but cringe when I am put in a category I never asked to be in.


In any case, the open mic was a complete success. Among the poets were Eddie Vega, Naomi Sumthin2Say Williams, and Rayner Shyne from Fresh Ink Youth. The night was fun and relaxing, filled with as much laughter as tears. It was truly an experience I will treasure.


To contact or learn more about Barrio Barista see the links below:



RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page